KZ-NIA@100: Buildings of Merit


Buildings of Merit

Architect(s): WG Moffatt & Hirst, Stafford Associate Architects CC, Koseff Van der Walt Architects Author(s): Prof. Walter Peters Location(s): 325 Smith Street Keywords: NPIA Architecture Medal, Natal Award of Merit, ISAA Award of Merit and Excellence, ISAA Conservation Award, Corobrik
Page 1


Author(s): Hans Hallen Keywords: Botha Monument, Jack Grossert, Van Wouw, Duff’s Road Stone
Page 1

Correction Issue 1/2001

Architect(s): Walter Peters Author(s): Prof. Walter Peters Keywords: Ben Bartholemew, Louis Botha Memorial, Anton van Wouw
Page 1


Author(s): Prof. Walter Peters Keywords: Centenary Issue’KZ-NIA @100: People, Thembisa Shongwe
Page 1

Professional Councils

Author(s): Prof. Walter Peters Keywords: Rani Naiker, South African Council for the Architectural Profession, Mike Boulle, South African Council for the Project and Construction Management Professions, Library at Chesterville
Page 1

2001 Corobrik Regional Student of the Year

Author(s): Prof. Walter Peters Keywords: Nasreen Arabi, Nicholas Darby, Melissa Wilkins, Clinton Dove
Page 1


Architect(s): Peter Hoal Author(s): Prof. Walter Peters
Page 1

A Tribute to Martin Knoetze

Author(s): Michael Taylor Keywords: Secretary of the National Board of the Institute of South African Architects, Registrar of South African Council for the Architectural Profession, Gordan Small, ISAA, Honorary Membership
Page 2

Recipient Buildings of Awards

Architect(s): GE le Sueur, Kallenbach, Kennedy & Furner, Ing. Jackson & Park-Ross, WG Moffat & Hirst, Corrigal, Crickmay & Partners, Paton, Taylor & Partners, SN Tomkin & Partners, Geoffrey le Sueur & Partners, Franklin, Garland & Gibson, Small, Pettit & Baillon, Hallen, Theron & Partners, Revel Fox & Partners, Interarc Architects, Johnson Murray Architects, Don Smith Architects, Geraghty Little & McCaffery Associated Architects, Small, Pettit & Robson, Vandeverre, Apsey Robinson & Associates, Campbell, Bernstein & Partners, Carter-Brown & Baillon, Stauch Vorster, Ismail Cassimjee, Elphick Proome Architects, Kiran Lalloo, Interplan Architects (Pty) Ltd, Colin Savage Architect, Ing, Jackson, de Ravel & Hartley, Johann Slee Architects, Blumenfeld & Krause, John Royal Architects, Robert Brusse Architect, Walt Architects, Dean Jay Architect, Myles Pugh Sherlock Murray, Architects Collaborative CC, Emmett: Emmett Architects CC, McCaffery Wilkinson & Little, Hallen Custers Smith, Philip Cox, Theunissen Jankowitz SA Inc Location(s): Greyville, Snell Parade, West Street, Smith Street, Pietermaritzburg, Victoria Embankment, Acutt Street, Congella, Umlazi Glebe, Umhlanga Ridge, Edendale, Prospecton, Durban North, Overport, Musgrave, St George’s Street, Mobeni, Shaka’s Rock, Pinetown, Westville, Springfield Park, Glenwood, Florida Road, Morningside, Tollgate, Sherwood, Underberg, Soldiers’ Way, Chatsworth, Berea, Prince Alfred Street, KwaMashu, KwaMakhutha, Durban, Zimbali, Sheffield Beach, Wasbank, Warwick Junction, Point
Page 3

Moments in Time (1962-1981)

Architect(s): Issy Benjamin, Barrie Biermann, Hans Hallen, Paul Mikula, Biermann & Theron, Hallen Theron & Partners, Brian Kearney, W.E. Roberts, Frank Lloyd Wright, Oglivanna Wright, Milek Masojada, Wally Peters, Rodney Harber, Vladimir Tretchikoff, Tony Clarkson, Heinrich Kammeyer, Norbert Rozendal, Geoff Carter-Brown, Small & Pettit, O’Neil & Giraud, Hallen & Dibb, Bryan Lee, BDG, Monica Gobel Author(s): Danie Theron Keywords: Holford & Kantorowich, Marine terminal building, Department of Community Development, conservation, Fine Fare, architecture and our city, Anglican Church, Catholic Mission at Inchanga, CREDO
Page 6

KZ-NIA 2001 Awards of Merit & Conservation Programme

Author(s): Errol Haarhoff Keywords: Pitika Ntuli, Minenhle Makhanya, Debbie Whelan, Derek Sherlock, Sydney Baillon, Ronald Lewcock, Sylvia Grobler
Page 6

KZ-NIA 2001 Awards: Some Impressions

Architect(s): Hallen & Theron, Kerstin Thompson, Glen Mercutt, Stafford Associate Architects, Stauch Vorster Architects Author(s): Errol Haarhoff Location(s): Cato Manor Keywords: Ron Lewcock, Jack Diamond, Hulett’s Head office, Edge Cities, CMDA
Page 8

Sewula Gorge Camp

Architect(s): Harber & Associates Location(s): Estcourt Keywords: Award of Merit
Page 8

Centenary Tourist and Information Centre for KZ-N Nature Conservation Service

Architect(s): Stafford Associate Architects CC Author(s): Peter Schwerzel Location(s): Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Park Keywords: Award of Merit
Page 9

Holiday Home for Accurate Trading

Architect(s): OMM Design Workshop Location(s): Sandhills Road, Prince’s Grant Estate Keywords: Award of Merit
Page 10

Office Development for Electric Ladyland Properties

Architect(s): OMM Design Workshop Location(s): Bellevue Road, Kloof Keywords: Award of Merit
Page 11

Library at Chesterville Extension

Architect(s): Urban Architects (Pty) Ltd. Location(s): Booth Road, Cato Manor Keywords: Award of Merit
Page 12

Prince Cyril Zulu Communicable Disease Centre

Architect(s): John Royal Architects, CNN Architects Location(s): University Avenue, Warwick Triangle, Durban Keywords: Award of Merit
Page 13

Multi-Purpose Centre at Wiggins Umkhumbane

Architect(s): Matic + Van Zyl, André Duvenage, Sally Adams, Urban Edge Location(s): New Dunbar Road, Cato Manor Keywords: Award of Merit
Page 14

Alexander Forbes Building for Johnnic Properties

Architect(s): Paton Taylor Associates Inc. Location(s): 10 Torvale Crescent, La Lucia Ridge Office Estate Keywords: Award of Merit
Page 15

Plaisir Du Jardin

Architect(s): Emmett:Emmett Architects CC Location(s): 102 Florida Road, Durban Keywords: Conservation Award, Architectural Heritage Precinct
Page 16

Durban High School Media Centre

Architect(s): Bruce Clark, Chen Sagnelli, John Frost, Roy Farren, Urban Architects (Pty) Ltd. Location(s): St Thomas Road, Durban Keywords: Conservation Award, Public Works Department
Page 17

Book Review- Wakkerstroom: A Re-assessment in Urban Conservation

Author(s): Dennis Radford