NPIA Newsletter Supplement to Architecture SA



Architect(s): Norman Eaton, Mallows, Louw, Hoffe and Hamlin, Geoffrey le Sueur, Stauch, Vorster & Partners, Crofton & Benjamin, Hallen & Dibb, Biermann & Theron, Da Silva & Smith Author(s): Danie Theron Location(s): Seaview, Bellair, Hillary, Malvern, Northdene, Reservoir Hills, Newlands, Grey Street, Chatsworth Keywords: architectural merit, metropolitan, dockland, corrugated iron, Victorian, trelliswork, salmon-coloured brickwork, suburban station, old main line, Bellair Station, Bothas Hill station, Inchanga station, Central Station, polychromous, public, civic complex, General Post Office, City Hall, City Square, Railway Station, Durban Fort, Netherlands Bank Building, General Accident Building, Shell House, Royal Hotel, Colonial Mutual, Madressa Arcade, Salisbury Arcade, thirties and forties, Fairhaven, Kangelani, Natal College Club Building, Art Deco tower, Hindu temples, Mosques, housing, apartment, hotel, residential
Page 3

Guide Map to be read in conjunction with detailed street maps of Durban and Environment

Page 6

Location of Informal Settlement by Type in the Durban Metropolitan Area

Page 7

The Institute of S.A. Architects National Congress: 2-6 June 1981, Elangeni Hotel, Durban: Resume of Delegates’ Programme

Architect(s): Louis de Moll, Charles Moore, Peter Melvin, Zak de Beer, Harry Seidler, N van Niekerk, Barrie Biermann, Hans Hallen, Ron Davies Author(s): Errol Haarhoff Location(s): Cato Manor, KwaMashu, Chatsworth, Pinetown, Westville, Reservoir Hills, Springfield, Umgeni River, Inanda, Shembe Village, Phoenix Keywords: territorial conflict, colonial settlers, Indian sub-continent, indigenous, colonisation, rapid growth, urbanisation, informal settlement, ‘Third World’, environmental tour, physical structure, Bay of Natal, Hindu temples, Black population